The College Editors Guild of the Philippines, the oldest, broadest and only-existing alliance of tertiary student publications in the Philippines and Asia-Pacific region, will hold its 74th National Student Press Convention (NSPC) and 37th Biennial Student Press Congress on May 19-23, 2014 at St. Francis Xavier Regional Major Seminary of Mindanao, Seminary Road, Brgy. Catalunan Grande, Davao City with the theme: “Dasig Manunuwat: Uniting Campus Journalists for Genuine Press Freedom and Social Change.”

The NSPC will provide lectures and workshops on basic, intermediate and advanced journalism skills. Likewise, trainings on different literary genres will be given. And as part of the Guild’s 82 years of dedication in educating student journalists regarding the plight of the country, various socio-political discussions will also be featured.

Also, the following awards will be given to outstanding publications:

15th GAWAD Ernesto Rodriguez Jr.

Named after CEGP President Emeritus Ernesto Rodriguez Jr., Gawad ERJ is the search for outstanding student publications in the country. The contest has two categories: major (tabloid, broadsheet, magazine,) and minor (website, alternative form, literary folio). In the major category, a publication may join only one form. In the minor category, a publication may join all the forms.

10th GAWAD Beng Hernandez 

In honor of the dedication of martyred CEGP Vice President for Mindanao Benjaline “Beng” Hernandez in protecting and promoting human rights, Gawad Beng is the award given to the publication with an exemplary program on human rights. Beng, who also worked as a human rights volunteer, was murdered by CAFGU while conducting a fact-finding mission at Arakan Valley, Cotabato on April 5, 2002. In this award, a particular program on human rights accompanied by photos, narrative report or video is to be judged (you can use any of these materials).

34th GAWAD Marcelo H. del Pilar

Gawad MHDP is the highest citation given by the Guild to its outstanding alumni.

In this regard, we are inviting your student publication to the 74th NSPC. The registration fee is P3,300.00 per delegate inclusive of food, lodging and kit for the duration of the event. Early bird registration is until May 10, 2014 with a discounted registration fee of P3,200.00. Delegates are advised to pay the fare for the Basic Masses Integration (Classroom Discussion 1 – The Social Panorama: Understanding the Marginalized Sectors) which costs P100.00 per delegate.

Member publications are also advised to pay their annual institutional fee for the National Office (P500.00) and for their local chapter. Non-member publications who wish to be part of the roster of member publications of the Guild can also pay the institutional fees.
Cebu and Panay – P250.00
Ilocos, Baguio-Benguet, Bikol and Leyte – P300.00
Caraga – P350.00
Cagayan Valley, Central Luzon, Metro Manila, Negros, Samar, Western Mindanao, Northern Mindanao, Greater Cotabato, Southern Mindanao and Far Southern Mindanao– P500.00

For inquiries and confirmation, you may contact the following:
For Luzon: Charina Claustro (0905-894-4129)
For Visayas: Franel Poliquit (09158066421/09226401319)
For Mindanao: Kit Iris Frias (0908-416-4941)

The program for the convention and Commission on Higher Education endorsement are attached with this letter. Visit College Editors Guild of the Philippines-National Office Facebook Page for the travel advisory.

We look forward to your publication’s participation in this noble activity.

Click this link for our ONLINE REGISTRATION

QUICK LINKS: NSPC Final Invitation Kit