Premyo Arejola short-listed entries announced


Three essays, eight short stories, four one-act plays, seven collections of poetry, and two short stories for children have been short-listed for the 8th Premyo Tomas Arejola sa Literaturang Bikolnon (PTALB).

This was recently announced by Carlos A. Arejola, chairman of Bicol’s premiere literary prize.

The short-listed works were chosen by a committee headed by Lorna A. Billanes, Ph.D.  from a field of fifty-one entries from all over the Philippines.   

Short-listed for the one-act play category are: “Karsel” by Mary Karol Fe R. Go of Legazpi City, “An Huring Paraduno” by Niles Jordan Breis of Tabaco City, “Urulay Mag-ilusyon” by Elsie C. Albis of Naga City, and “N da neym ov da Pudra” by Richard Madrilejos of Tabaco City.

Cited for fiction are: “Anino sa Resort” by Irmina Torres of Naga City, “Abo sa Paggabas” by Marvin Davila Aquino of Tinambac, Camarines Sur, “Italbong sa Irarom kan Salog” by Gilmar Baran of Pili, Camarines Sur, “Rawraw”  by Nestor Alagbate of Daet, Camarines Norte, “Scoop” by Juan Escandor Jr. of Gubat, Sorsogon and Naga City, “Bisita” by Shairmaine Zen Manzano of Naga City, “Estudyante” by Michael Florano Sales of Pili, Camarines Sur, and “Basilio”, Jomark M. Baynado of Polanqui, Albay.

The collections of poetry cited this year are: “An mga Buto ni Kuracog” by Emmanuel T. Barrameda of Catanduanes and Imus, Cavite, “Gapo asin Iba pang Rawitdawit” by Elbert Olaso Baeta of Iriga City, “Ampaw asin Iba pang Rawitdawit” by Irvin Parco Sto. Tomas of Canaman, Camarines Sur, “Pano Padabaon an Diyos asin Iba pang Rawitdawit” by Richard Madrilejos of Tabaco City,  “Tag-ok sa Ginobat” by Nestor M. Awa of Iriga City, “Lapridarga Mga Rawitdawit Dapit sa Sakral asin Handal” by Niles Jordan Breis of Tabaco City, and “Mga Kasagkodan” by Jerome Hipolito of Calabanga, Camarines Sur.   

The finalists for the essay category are: “Bako Ako Bikolano” by Richard Madrilejos, “Magurang Ka Man” by Arlan Abanes Alzaga, and “Kun Tano Kami Kadto Nagbabaralon nin Pangudtuhan sa Sinehan” by  Niles Jordan Breis, all of Tabaco City, Albay.

Short-listed for short stories for children are: “Ada Baruga”, a story for children by Jaime Jesus Borlagdan of Tabaco City and “An Apat na Kabalang” a story for children by Irmina V. Torres of Naga City.

The literary prize is named after Tomas Padilla Arejola, a Bicolano patriot, and a leading member of the Propaganda Movement and Malolos Congress.

Winners of the 8th Premyo Arejola will be announced at the Pagrokyaw kan

Pinakamababansay na Obrang Panliteratura 2016, a PTALB ceremony commemorating the Pambansang Buwan ng Panitikan on April 22 in Naga City.

Winners will receive a Diploma of Merit, the Premyo Tomas Arejola Medallion and P5000. A grand prize winner, who will be chosen from the roster of category winners, will receive an additional cash prize of P7, 000 and will be named Parasurat kan Taon (Writer of the Year).    






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here