LIKHAAN: The UP Institute of Creative of Writing (UP ICW) announces the fellows to the 57th UP National Writers Workshop to be held on April 1-8, 2018. The UP ICW has selected twelve writers for the workshop, presided over by this year’s Workshop Director Vladimeir Gonzales.
The 2018 fellows are Bernardo O. Aguay Jr. (Poetry, Filipino), Niles Jordan Breis (Essay, Filipino), Victorette Joy Z. Campilan (Fiction, English), Noreen Capili (Fiction, Filipino), Carlito P. Casaje, (Essay, English), Mark Anthony L. Daposala (Poetry, Filipino, translated from Cebuano), Eljay Castro Deldoc (Drama, Filipino), Patricia Celina A. Ngo (Fiction, English), Romeo P. Peña (Poetry, Filipino), Anna Sanchez (Essay, English) Cherilyn Sarigumba (Fiction, Filipino), and Januar Yap (Fiction, Filipino, translated from Cebuano).
The Advisers, Fellows, and Associates of the UP ICW will comprise the workshop panel. They are National Artist for Literature Virgilio S. Almario, National Artist for Literature Bienvenido Lumbera, Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio, Gémino H. Abad, Jose Y. Dalisay Jr., Charlson Ong, Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo, J. Neil Garcia, Jun Cruz Reyes, Victor Emmanuel Carmelo Nadera Jr., Luna Sicat Cleto, Eugene Y. Evasco, Roland Tolentino, and Vladimeir Gonzales.
Previously dedicated to helping up-and-coming writers, the UP National Writers Workshop  (UPNWW) has been reformatted to mentoring writers in mid-career. The workshop aims to help writers who have already published (or are on the verge of publishing) a book, or have won major literary awards, further hone their craft.
All fellows are entitled to a modest stipend and free hotel accommodation.
The UPNWW is complemented by the Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio Writers Workshop, which is geared towards young writers.
For inquiries, call 981-8500 local 2117 and ask for Isa Lorenzo, or email [email protected].