THE MANILA TIMES: 12 writers picked as 57th UPNWW fellows


A dozen creative writers have been chosen as fellows to the 57th University of the Philippines National Writers Workshop (UPNWW), to be held from April 1 to 8, 2018, it was learned recently.

In an announcement posted on the Panitikan: Philippine Literature Portal, Likhaan: The UP Institute of Creative Writing (UP ICW) said the selected fellows are Bernardo O. Aguay Jr. (Poetry in Filipino), Niles Jordan Breis (Essay in Filipino), Victorette Joy Z. Campilan (Fiction in English), Noreen Capili (Fiction in Filipino), Carlito P. Casaje (Essay in English), Mark Anthony L. Daposala (Poetry in Filipino, translated from Cebuano), Eljay Castro Deldoc (Drama in Filipino), Patricia Celina A. Ngo (Fiction in English), Romeo P. Peña (Poetry in Filipino), Anna Sanchez (Essay in English), Cherilyn Sarigumba (Fiction in Filipino), and Januar Yap (Fiction in Filipino, translated from Cebuano).

Fictionist Vladimeir Gonzales will preside over the 2018 workshop as its director, with the advisers, fellows and associates of the UP ICW comprising the workshop panel. They are National Artists for Literature Virgilio S. Almario and Bienvenido Lumbera; Palanca Hall of Fame inductees Jose Y. Dalisay Jr. and Eugene Y. Evasco; fictionists Charlson Ong and Jun Cruz Reyes; poets Gémino H. Abad, J. Neil Garcia and Victor Emmanuel Carmelo Nadera Jr.; fictionists and essayists Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo and Luna Sicat Cleto; essayist and critic Roland Tolentino; and dramatist and puppet-theater pioneer Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio.

Previously dedicated to helping up-and-coming writers, the UPNWW was reformatted in 2006 to mentoring mid-career writers. The workshop aims to help writers who have already published (or are on the verge of publishing) a book, or have won major literary awards, further hone their craft.

All fellows are entitled to a modest stipend and free hotel accommodation.

The UPNWW is complemented by the Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio Writers Workshop, which is geared toward young writers. Its second edition was held in October.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *