Kristine Ong Muslim is the author of nine books, including the short story collections Age of Blight, Butterfly Dream, and The Drone Outside, as well as the poetry collections Lifeboat, Meditations of a Beast, and Black Arcadia. Age of Blightis, among various other international critical acclaims, one of the best books of 2016, according to Chicago Review of Books. Her short stories and poems have appeared widely in magazines and anthologies, including Boston Review, New Welsh Review, The Cincinnati Review, Tin House, Weird Fiction Review, World Literature Today, Sunvault: Stories of Solarpunk & Eco-Speculation(Upper Rubber Boot Books, 2017), and Ghost Fishing: An Eco-Justice Poetry Anthology(University of Georgia Press, 2018). She is editor for the poetry section of LONTAR: The Journal of Southeast Asian Speculative Fiction, a journal published by Epigram Books in Singapore, and is co-editor with Nalo Hopkinson of the British Fantasy Award-winning anthology, People of Colo(u)r Destroy Science Fiction.
Kristine Ong Muslim is born on September 18, 1980 in Kidapawan City, North Cotabato. She grew up and continues to live in a rural town called Nuro Poblacion in Maguindanao. She has a degree in chemical engineering from the University of the Philippines-Diliman. A long-time freelancer who has done some odd jobs, she also worked for around six years in call centers in Cebu City and Manila. Muslim is not a fellow of and has never applied to any of the country’s institutionally supported writing workshops. She is also not and will never be a member of any formal organization for Filipino writers. Naturally, she has no Palanca Award and will never have one.
The Drone Outside(London: Eibonvale Press, 2017)
Black Arcadia(Quezon City: University of the Philippines Press, 2017)
Meditations of a Beast(Wisconsin: Cornerstone Press, 2016)
Butterfly Dream(Sacramento, CA: Snuggly Books, 2016)
Age of Blight(Los Angeles, CA: Unnamed Press, 2016)
Lifeboat(Manila: University of Santo Tomas Publishing House, 2015)
A Roomful of Machines(New York: ELJ Publications, 2015)
Grim Series(Wisconsin: Popcorn Press, 2012)
We Bury the Landscape(Texas: Queen’s Ferry Press, 2012)