LIKHAAN: The Up Institute of Creative Writing (UP ICW) announces its 12 fellows for the 3rd Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio Writers Workshop (ALBWW), which will be held on July 11-15, 2018 at the University Hotel, UP Diliman. With Charlson Ong at the helm as Workshop Director, the UP ICW has selected five works in Filipino and seven works in English.
The 2018 ALBWW fellows for Filipino are Rommel Bonus, Danilo Ellamil Jr., Boon Kristoffer Lauw, Erik Pingol, and Eric John Villena. The fellows for English are Ernest Jean Angeles, Angeli Dumatol, Jane Kharen Mariano, Katrina Martin, Lukas Miguel Santiago, Pichai Theamtusana, and Angela Velasco.
This year’s ALBWW focuses on Novel and Nobela projects, with prominent writers such as Dr. Genevieve Asenjo, Glenn Diaz, Ramon Guillermo, Jun Cruz Reyes, and Krip Yuson serving as panelists and teaching staff, along with Dr. Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo coming in as a guest panelist.
Aside from craft lectures which will be given by some of the panelists, there will also be lectures coming from publishers who will share some of their insights, on what they are looking for in a manuscript. All of these lectures will be streamed live on UP ICW’s Facebook page.
The ALBWW complements the annual UP National Writers Workshop, which has grown to accommodate writers in mid-career.