LIKHAAN: UP Institute of Creative of Writing (UP ICW) announces the fellows of the 59th UP National Writers Workshop to be held on April 12-19, 2020 in Baguio City, led this year by Workshop Director Romulo Baquiran Jr.

The fellows for this year are Kathleen Osias (Fiction, English), Herlyn Alegre (Creative Nonfiction, English/Filipino), Christine Lao (Poetry, English), Honeylyn Joy Alipio (Screenplay, Filipino), Emmanuel Barrameda (Novel, Filipino), Emmanuel Dumlao (Novel, Filipino), Maynard Manansala (Play, Filipino), Jonellie Santos (Fiction, English), Raissa Claire Falgui (Fiction, English), Fatrick Tabada (Screenplay, Filipino), Glenn Diaz (Fiction, English), and Johanna Michelle Lim (Creative Nonfiction, English).

The workshop panel comprises the Advisers, Fellows, and Associates of the UP ICW. The ICW faculty consists of National Artist for Literature Bienvenido Lumbera, National Artist for Theater Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio, National Artist for Literature Virgilio S. Almario, Gémino H. Abad, Jose Y. Dalisay Jr., Charlson Ong, Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo, J. Neil Garcia, Jun Cruz Reyes, Ramon Guillermo, Victor Emmanuel Carmelo Nadera Jr., Luna Sicat Cleto, Eugene Y. Evasco, Roland Tolentino, Romulo Baquiran Jr., Anna Sanchez, and Vladimeir Gonzales. This year’s workshop also features the special participation of Filipina writer, activist, and scholar, Joi Barrios.

The UP National Writers Workshop (UPNWW) aims to help writers who have already published (or are on the verge of publishing) a book or have won major literary awards, in further honing their craft. It is complemented by the Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio Writers Workshop (ALBWW) for young and emergent writers, slated for later this year in July 2020.

For inquiries about the 59th UP National Writers Workshop, call 981-8500 local 2117 and ask for Ms. Gloria Evangelista, or email the workshop secretariat at [email protected]