Panitikan News and Features

Patimpalak: Gawad Rogelio Sicat 2016

GAWAD ROGELIO SICAT 2016 Timpalak sa Pagsulat ng Tula, Maikling Kuwento at Sanaysay Bilang pagkilala sa hindi matatawarang kontribusyon ni Rogelio “Roger” Sicat sa pag-unlad ng Panitikan ng Pilipinas, patuloy na itinataguyod ng Opisina ng Tsanselor ng Unibersidad ng Pilipinas, Diliman at Departamento ng Filipino at Panitikan ng Pilipinas, Kolehiyo ng Arte at Literatura, UP […]

Polish your masterpiece now as 66th Palanca Awards issues last call for entries

​​​Aspiring Palanca awardees only have until the end of the month to polish their masterpieces as its organizer and sponsor, the Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc., has announced its last call for entries. Contenders are urged to submit before the deadline at midnight of April 30, 2016. This year’s Palanca Awards is accepting entries for the […]

Drunken Poetry Night launches LAGABLAB Online Poetry Contest

Drunken Poetry Night (DPN) starts its 2016 reading series in April, celebrating Poetry Month. For its upcoming 10th reading on 9 April, we will be holding our first online poetry contest, LAGABLAB. The competition is open to all followers of DPN, regardless of age. We will award three winners in the English category and three winners […]

Premyo Arejola short-listed entries announced

Three essays, eight short stories, four one-act plays, seven collections of poetry, and two short stories for children have been short-listed for the 8th Premyo Tomas Arejola sa Literaturang Bikolnon (PTALB). This was recently announced by Carlos A. Arejola, chairman of Bicol’s premiere literary prize. The short-listed works were chosen by a committee headed by […]

66th Palanca Awards now accepting entries

The Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (Palanca Awards), the country’s longest-running literary contest, is reaching out anew to all writers looking to showcase their literary genius. Now on its 66th year, its organizer and sponsor, the Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc. (Palanca Foundation), announced that it is now accepting entries for the Awards’ categories, which […]

UP Press announces winners of critical essay writing contest

The University of the Philippines Press capped off its 50th golden anniversary and kicked off its 51st year with the announcement of the winners of its critical essay writing contest this March 16 at the UP Diliman Executive House. The event was attended by UP President Alfredo Pascual, UP Vice-president Gisela Padilla-Concepcion, former UP Press  […]

2016 Pasidungog Eduardo A. Makabenta Sr. Para Han Siday

Mga Lagda han Paisan-isan Abri ini nga paisan-isan ngadto han mga nagsusurat hin siday ha Waray ha bug-os nga kalibutan. 1.  Napulo (10) nga mga siday an kinahanglan ipasa para makaapi. 2.  Adton waray pa maimantala an kakarawaton nga obra/entri. Diri paaapihon adton mga obra nga nagdaog na hin mga paisan-isan. 3.  Kinahanglan nga sinurat […]

The Joke’s on Me poetry contest for UP Baguio students now open

Contest Mechanics

1. The contest is open to all UP Baguio students enrolled this 2nd semester 2015-2016.

2. The contestant is free to interpret the given theme ‘The Joke’s On Me’ in any way. The entry must be an original work of poetry with a corresponding title.

3. The poem may be written in English or Filipino (with or without specific form/word count/length, etc.)

Lumahok sa Sali(n) Na, Shakespeare 2016

Magsalin o hindi, ito ang tanong. 

Tinatawagan ang mga kabataan na lumahok sa Sali(n) Na, Shakespeare 2016!

Ang Sali(n) Na, Shakespeare! ay isang timpalak sa pagsasalin sa Filipino ng pinakamahahalagang tekstong pampanitikan na naglalayong hikayatin ang mga kabataan na lumahok sa gawaing pagsasalin.

34th National Book Awards winners announced

The National Book Development Board and the Manila Critics Circle recently hosted the culminating ceremony for the 34th National Book Awards (NBA), recognizing and celebrating the best books published in 2014. The official ceremony was held on December 5, 2015 at the Old Senate Session Hall, National Museum of the Philippines, Ermita, Manila. NBDB Chair […]