The National Book Development Board and the Manila Critics Circle recently hosted the culminating ceremony for the 34th National Book […]
​With the April 30 deadline fast approaching, the ​​Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature issues its final call for entries […]
The Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (CPMA) announces that it has revised the rules governing the 65th year contest. […]
The Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc. (CPF) is now accepting entries to the 65th season of the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards […]

Unyon ng mga Manunulat sa Pilipinas (UMPIL), or the Writers’ Union of the Philippines, awards this year’s Gawad Pambansang Alagad ni Balagtas to the following Filipino writers who have contributed significantly to the development of Philippine literature in any language: Lamberto G. Ceballos (Tula at Kathang Cebuano), Querubin D. Fernandez, Jr. (Tulang Kapampangan), Steven Patrick Fernandez (Dula sa Filipino), Luis Francia (Essay in English), Eulalio R. Guieb III (Kathang Filipino), Nilo P. Pamonag (Tula at Kathang Hiligaynon), Jose Victor Peñaranda (Poetry in English), and Lorenzo G. Tabin (Tula at Kathang Ilocano).

The Gawad Paz Marquez Benitez for outstanding literature teacher will be bestowed on Regina Garcia Groyon, while the Gawad Pedro Bucaneg for outstanding literary organization will be conferred upon Sumakwelan Iloilo.

The ceremonies will be held on 30 August 2014 at 3:00 pm at the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication Auditorium (UP CMC). These will be the culminating event of the 2014 UMPIL Pambansang Kumperensiya, which will be held on 28-30 August at UP CMC.

Now on its 64th year, the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (the Palanca Awards), the most prestigious and longest-running literary competition in the Philippines, is now accepting entries for its annual literary tilt.

This year, the Palanca Awards has enhanced­­­ its submission system to facilitate the submission of entries, particularly for aspiring and professional literary artists who wish to join the competition but are based in the provinces or overseas. Contestants will no longer be required to submit hard copies of entries, which saves on printing and courier service costs.

Online submission to the 64th Palanca Awards may be done through the official website,, where the contest documents may be downloaded. The accomplished forms and entries may then be uploaded and submitted through the website. To complete the submission process, hard copies of the notarized contest documents must be submitted to any of the following addresses: (1) Unit 603, 6th Floor Park Trade Centre Bldg., 1716 Investment Drive Madrigal Business Park, Ayala Alabang, Muntinlupa City; or (2) Unit 3G, OPL Bldg., 100 C. Palanca St., Legaspi Village, Makati City. The contest rules are also posted on the Palanca Awards Facebook page at

The National Book Development Board (NBDB) and the Manila Critics Circle (MCC) are pleased to announce the finalists for this year’s National Book Awards. 

32nd NATIONAL BOOK AWARDS FINALISTS For Books Published in 2012 

Literary Division

Juan C. Laya Prize for Best Novel in a Foreign Language

1. Agueda: A Ballad of Stone and Wind, by Anna Maria L. Harper, designed by Robbie Villegas (University of Santo Tomas Publishing House)
2. In My Mother’s House, by Joni Cham, designed by Lolita M. Calvo (Central Book Supply and De La Salle University)
3. La India, or Island of the Disappeared, by Rosario Cruz-Lucero, designed by Zenaida N. Ebalan (University of the Philippines Press)
4. Margosatubig: The Story of Salagunting, by Ramon L. Muzones, translated by Ma. Cecilia Locsin-Nava, designed by Karl Fredrick M. Castro (Ateneo de Manila University Press) 
5. The Leprous Bishop, by Gabriel Miró, translated by Marlon James Sales, designed by Felix Mago Miguel (University of Santo Tomas Publishing House) 

The Unyon ng mga Manunulat sa Pilipinas (UMPIL, or Writers Union of the Philippines) has opened the nominations for its […]
We’ve known for quite some time now, and we’re so happy to have finally received permission to announce it to […]