LAMPARA Publishing House, Inc. (LPHI) wishes to announce the winners in the recently concluded 2/2012 Annual Lampara Books Children’s Story Writing Contest:

  • First prize—“Si Nina sa Bayan ng Daldalina” by Aliona D. Silva
  • Second prize—“Magkakulay” by Periwinkle S. Cajuiat
  • Third prize—“Si Znork, ang Kabayong Mahilig Matulog” by Mark Anthony Angeles

Silva, 21, a resident of Pasig City and a graduate of Malikhaing Pagsulat sa Filipino from the University of the Philippines (UP)-Diliman, wins a cash prize of Php30,000.00.

Cajuiat, 18, of Cainta, Rizal, currently taking up Malikhaing Pagsulat sa Filipino at UP-Diliman, wins Php15,000.00.

Published poet Angeles, 32, of Kalookan City, wins Php10,000.00. He is a graduate of Journalism from the Polytechnic University of the Philippines and currently works as a technical support representative at 24/7.

Each winner also receives a medal of merit.

The board of jury was composed of Ms. Becky Bravo, award-winning children’s story writer and currently an editor-translator-writer at LPHI; Mr. Eugene Y. Evasco, Palanca Awards hall of famer, UP professor and award-winning author of children’s stories; and Mr. Segundo D. Matias, Jr., Palanca Award-winner for teleplay and children’s story and LPHI president and general manager.

Book illustrations for “Si Nina sa Bayan ng Daldalina” shall be the subject in the upcoming 2/2013 Lampara Books Illustrator’s Prize.