The Fray Luis de Leon Creative Writing Institute at the University of San Agustin Coordinating Center for Research and Publications under the Office of Research and Planning (ORP) is now accepting applications for writing fellowships in the 12th San Agustin Writers Workshop to be held on April 28-30, 2014 at the USA President’s Conference Room, Iloilo City.

The fellowships are open to writers in and from Western Visayas who are willing to learn the craft of playwriting from the panelists led by award-winning writers Isidoro M. Cruz, Alice Tan Gonzales, Ma. Felicia Flores, and stage director Eric Divinagracia. The chair of the panel is Palanca award-winning playwright John Iremil E. Teodoro.

Interested applicants must submit the following:  application letter; letter of recommendation from any faculty member of their school or any established writer in the region; curriculum vitae with colored ID picture, contact numbers (landline/cellphone/email address); parents’ consent to attend the workshop (for minors); and a one-act play or a full-length play in Aklanon, Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, Filipino, or English.

The fellowships cover free board and lodging in Iloilo City during the workshop, plus transportation allowances for fellows who are based in Western Visayas.  Fellows from other regions may look for their own travel funding. The names of selected fellows will be announced on April 14, 2014.

The deadline for  applications is on April 5, 2014.  Please send applications to: Prof. Maria Cristy E. Daguay, Coordinator, USA Coordinating Center for Research and Publications, Office of Research and Planning, University of San Agustin, General Luna Street, Iloilo City  5000

For more information, please contact  Ms. Carmen G. Dureza at telefax no. (033) 337-7716 or e-mail: