The Likhaan: UP Institute of Creative Writing invites everyone to UP Writers’ Night, an annual gathering of writers, artists, academics, and lovers of the written word, and the ICW’s culminating activity for the year.
UP Writers’ Night 2014 will be held on 5 December, Friday, starting at 6 p.m. at the Executive House in UP Diliman.
The festivities will begin with the launch of the latest issue of Likhaan: The Journal of Contemporary Philippine Literature, edited this year by award-winning fictionist Prof. Rosario Cruz-Lucero. The Likhaan Journal is one of the ICW’s flagship projects and is made possible with generous help of the Office of the UP Diliman Chancellor. Among this year’s contributors are Merlie M. Alunan, J. Neil Garcia, Raissa Rivera Falgui, and Kristian Sendon Cordero.
After the launch of the Likhaan Journal, the audience will be treated to performances by writers, singers, and bands, among them Los Chupacabras and The Furor Commands It. A special auction will also be held to help raise funds for ICW projects and its move its new offices at the Palma Hall Pavilion next year.
The festivities will follow the awarding of the annual Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award at 4 p.m. The award is given annually to the best first book of creative writing by an author. This year’s finalists are Alwyn Javier, Bernadette Neri, Ferdinand Pisigan Jarin, and Resty Ceña. The awarding ceremony of the MGBFBA is by invititation only.
Writers’ Night 2014 is free, and is open to all writers, readers, and literature lovers. Writers’ Night 2014 will be held in partnership with National Book Development Board, San Miguel Corporation, and with support from the Office of the President of the UP System, and the Office of the Chancellor of UP Diliman.
For questions, please call 922-1830 or e-mail [email protected]