The Unyon ng mga Manunulat sa Pilipinas (UMPIL) or The Writers’ Union of the Philippines will hold the Writers’ Congress on 29 August 2015, from 9:00AM to 5:00PM. Venue will be the Escaler Hall, Ateneo de Manila University, Loyola Heights, Quezon City.

This year’s Adrian Cristobal Lecturer is Solita Monsod, notable economist and media personality. This annual lecture, delivered by a public intellectual, is sponsored by the family of the late writer and former UMPIL chairperson whose name the lecture carries. This will be followed by the Writers’ Forum on the topic “E-Karapatan: The Writers’ Rights On-line.”

The congress’ highlight is the Gawad Pambansang Alagad ni Balagtas, given to Filipino writers who have contributed significantly to the development of Philippine literature in any language. This year’s awardees are: Crisostomo B. Balairos (Hiligaynon Fiction), Nemesio S. Baldesco Sr. (Waray Poetry), Rafael A. Banzuela, Jr. (Bikol Poetry), Marcelo A. Geocallo (Cebuano Fiction), Susan S. Lara (Fiction in English), Linda T. Lingbaoan (Iluko Fiction), Yen Makabenta (Essay in English), Victor Emmanuel Carmelo D. Nadera, Jr. (Poetry in Filipino), Danton R. Remoto (Poetry in English), and Rody Vera (Drama in Filipino).

The Gawad Paz Marquez Benitez for outstanding literature teacher will be conferred upon Erlinda Kintanar Alburo, former director of the Cebuano Studies Center of the University of San Carlos in Cebu. The Gawad Pedro Bucaneg for outstanding literary organization will be given to the Integrated Performing Arts Guild (IPAG), the resident theatre company of Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT).

This event is organized in cooperation with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, the Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino, and the Ateneo de Manila’s Department of Filipino
Open to the public. Free admission. UMPIL writers and members are enjoined to attend the Congress and renew their membership. For more details, please contact Ms. Eva Cadiz at (63)9178453721; or email Michael Coroza, Secretary General of UMPIL at [email protected]