As the culminating activity of its year-long Golden Anniversary celebration, UP Press in partnership with the College of Arts and Letters UP Diliman would now like to honor the five who are living as well as the eight who have passed on with an exhibit of posters and short video productions about their life and works at the Gallery 1, Faculty Center on February 1-5, 2016; a re-launching of their UP Press titles; and an afternoon of special tributes from colleagues and friends entitled “PAGPUPUGAY: A Tribute to the National Artists of the UP Press” on February 5, 2016 at the Claro M. Recto Hall, Bulwagang Rizal, UP Diliman, Quezon City. 

Since it was founded in 1965, UP Press has published works by no less than thirteen authors who have been named National Artists of the Philippines. The thirteen National Artists are: Amado V. Hernandez (Literature, 1973), Leonor Orosa-Goquingco (Dance, 1976), Francisco Arcellana (Literature, 1990), Edith L. Tiempo (Literature, 1999), Nestor Vicente Madali (NVM) Gonzalez (Literature, 1997), Rolando S. Tinio (Theatre, 1997), Jose M. Maceda (Music, 1997), Francisco Sionil Jose (Literature, 2001), Virgilio S. Almario (Literature, 2003), Bienvenido L. Lumbera (Literature, 2006), Lazaro A. Francisco (Literature, 2009), Ramon P. Santos (Music, 2014), and Cirilo F. Bautista (Literature, 2014).