LIKHAAN: The UP Institute of Creative of Writing (UP ICW) announces the fellows to the 56th UP National Writers Workshop to be held on March 12-19, 2017 at the BP International Makiling, Los Baños, Laguna. The UP ICW has selected twelve writers for the workshop, presided over by this year’s Workshop Director Vladimeir Gonzales.
The 2017 fellows are Arbeen Acuña (Fiction, Filipino), Christa De La Cruz (Poetry, Filipino), Zeno Denolo (Fiction, Filipino), Rowena Festin (Fiction, Filipino),  Rogene Gonzales (Fiction, Filipino), Arvin Mangohig (Poetry, English), Arnie Mejia (Creative Non Fiction, English), Paolo Enrico Melendez (Creative Non Fiction, English), Charisse-Fuschia Paderna (Poetry, English), Wilfredo Pascual (Creative Non Fiction, English), Karren Renz Seña (Fiction, English), and Alvin Ursua (Poetry, Filipino).
The Advisers, Fellows, and Associates of the UP ICW will comprise the workshop panel. They are National Artist for Literature Virgilio S. Almario, National Artist for Literature Bienvenido Lumbera, Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio, Gémino H. Abad, Jose Y. Dalisay Jr., Charlson Ong, Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo, J. Neil Garcia, Jun Cruz Reyes, Victor Emmanuel Carmelo Nadera Jr., Luna Sicat Cleto, Eugene Y. Evasco, Isabelita Reyes, Roland Tolentino, and Vladimeir Gonzales.
Previously dedicated to helping up-and-coming writers, the UP National Writers Workshop has been reformatted to mentoring writers in mid-career. The workshop aims to help writers who have already published (or are on the verge of publishing) a book, or have won major literary awards, further hone their craft.
All fellows are entitled to a modest stipend, free hotel accommodation, and free transportation from UP Diliman to Los Baños and back.
For inquiries, call 981-8500 local 2117 and ask for Gloria Evangelista, or email [email protected].