In celebration of the 40th year of UP ICW, Grand Homecoming of Fellows from the UP Writers Workshop
As part of its 40th anniversary, the LIKHAAN: UP Institute of Creative Writing (ICW) will hold UP Writers Night, a yearly gathering that pays homage to both the country’s established and up-and-coming writers. The grand homecoming will feature three major events, all taking place on November 23, 2018 at the University Hotel, University of Philippines – Diliman.
The celebration begins with the awarding ceremonies for the 18th Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award (MGBFBA), to be held from 2:30-4:00 PM. The finalists for this year are: Emiliana Kampilan for Dead Balagtas, Tomo 1: Mga Sayaw ng Dagat at Lupa, Bong Redila for Meläg, Vijae Alquisola for Sa Mga Pansamantala, and Liza Magtoto for Bienvenida de Soltera. The judges are Romulo P. Baquiran, Jr., Allan Popa, and Joselito Delos Reyes.
Registration and dinner is at 6 PM. This will be followed by the launch of Likhaan Journal 12, the annual journal of contemporary Philippine literature published by the UP ICW. This year’s issue editor is Eugene Evasco. UP ICW will also be launching a commemorative anthology celebrating the 40th anniversary of the institution. This special volume is titled Likhaan [email protected], edited by Jose Dalisay, Jr.
The Writers Night Homecoming program will feature recollections by former ICW directors and performances by workshop alumni Jess Santiago, Nerisa del Carmen Guevara, Sandra Roldan, and Bernardo Aguay, Jr., as well as special performances by folk singer-songwriter Joey Ayala and activist-rapper BLKD. Books and zines from different publishers and individuals, such as Anvil Publishing, XU Press, and Balangay Books, will also be sold at the event.
Everyone is invited. Admission is free. There will be special limited edition items to be given away to our guests.
Friends from media are invited and encouraged to participate, and provide coverage, if possible. For more information about the event, please e-mail, [email protected] or check the Facebook event page (