The Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio Writers Workshop (ALBWW), formerly known as the UP Basic Writers Workshop, is an annual workshop developed by the UP Institute of Creative Writing to complement the UP National Writers Workshop. While the UP National Writers Workshop accommodates and mentors published writers in mid-career, the Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio Writers Workshop serves as a platform for younger writers to have their works critiqued by a panel of established writers.

Established in 2016, the workshop’s focus changes from year to year. Previous iterations of the workshop focused on speculative fiction, novels, and literature for young adults. This year’s recently concluded workshop focused on one act plays in light of the conferment of the title National Artist for Theater to Dr. Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio.

First ALBWW: Speculative Fiction
October 14-17, 2016 | Microtel, UP Technohub

The First ALBWW focused on works of Speculative Fiction and Sapantaha with Charlson Ong as workshop director and award-winning fictionists Nikki Alfar, Vladimeir Gonzales, Will Ortiz, and Eliza Victoria serving as panelists and teaching staff.

Second ALBWW: Young Adult Literature
October 6-9, 2017| Oracle Hotel, Quezon City

ALBWW 2017 focused on works of Young Adult Literature and Panitikang Pangkabataan. Eugene Evasco served as the workshop director with Dean Francis Alfar, Christine Bellen, Mina Esguerra, and Vim Nadera serving as panelists and teaching staff.

Third ALBWW: The Novel

July 11-15, 2018 | University Hotel, UP Diliman

The third installment of the ALBWW focused on the novel and the nobela. The cycle’s workshop director was Charlson Ong with Genevieve Asenjo, Glenn Diaz, Ramon Guillermo, Jun Cruz Reyes and Krip Yuson serving as panelists and teaching staff. Dr. Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo also served as a guest panelist. Some publishers also shared their insights on what they look for in a manuscript.

Fourth ALBWW: One-Act Play
August 15-19, 2019 | University Hotel, UP Diliman

In light of the conferment of the title of National Artist for Theatre to Dr. Amelia Lapeña-Bonifacio in 2018, ALBWW 2019 put in focus the one-act play. Luna Sicat-Cleto served as the workshop director with Vladimeir Gonzales, Dennis Marasigan, Malou Jacob, and Herlyn Alegre serving as panelists.