Borlagdan, Padrigon, Basbas Win Children’s Story Writing Contest

“Kan Pinahali Si Tabi Sa Kahadean Kan Ugali” by Jaime Jesus Borlagdan of Tabaco, Albay, “Anino ni Nino” by Peyj Padrigon of Iriga City, and “Kapistahan kan Bulan” by Ofero Basbas of Naga City were declared winners of Kabulig-Bikol’s Usipon Pan-Aki Writing Contest 2019. These three stories were picked selected from among 18 children’s stories […]

Kasingkasing Press, Aklat Alamid to launch children’s fiction contest

Expect more contemporary writers in regional languages to gain more platform in the next few years. Two book publishing labels advocating for the use of native languages in West Visayan children’s literature have recently tied up to hold the first Aliwanag: Short Story for Children Writing Contest. Spearheaded by Kasingkasing Press and Aklat Alamid, the […]

GAWAD ROGELIO L. ORDOÑEZ: Patimpalak sa Pagsulat ng Tula, Maikling Kuwento at Sanaysay

Isa sa kinikilalang progresibong manunulat sa Pilipinas si Rogelio “Ka Roger” Ordoňez. Ayon nga sa isang premyadong manunulat, si Ka Roger sa simula’t sapul ay nanatiling manunulat na may paninindigan sa sinumpaang sining. Hindi kumupas, at manapa’y lalo pang tumingkad ang kanyang panulat na bumabangga at bumabaklas sa establisyamento ng lipunan, lalo na sa naghaharing […]

Patimpalak: Gawad Rogelio Sicat 2016

GAWAD ROGELIO SICAT 2016 Timpalak sa Pagsulat ng Tula, Maikling Kuwento at Sanaysay Bilang pagkilala sa hindi matatawarang kontribusyon ni Rogelio “Roger” Sicat sa pag-unlad ng Panitikan ng Pilipinas, patuloy na itinataguyod ng Opisina ng Tsanselor ng Unibersidad ng Pilipinas, Diliman at Departamento ng Filipino at Panitikan ng Pilipinas, Kolehiyo ng Arte at Literatura, UP […]

Polish your masterpiece now as 66th Palanca Awards issues last call for entries

​​​Aspiring Palanca awardees only have until the end of the month to polish their masterpieces as its organizer and sponsor, the Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc., has announced its last call for entries. Contenders are urged to submit before the deadline at midnight of April 30, 2016. This year’s Palanca Awards is accepting entries for the […]

Drunken Poetry Night launches LAGABLAB Online Poetry Contest

Drunken Poetry Night (DPN) starts its 2016 reading series in April, celebrating Poetry Month. For its upcoming 10th reading on 9 April, we will be holding our first online poetry contest, LAGABLAB. The competition is open to all followers of DPN, regardless of age. We will award three winners in the English category and three winners […]

Premyo Arejola short-listed entries announced

Three essays, eight short stories, four one-act plays, seven collections of poetry, and two short stories for children have been short-listed for the 8th Premyo Tomas Arejola sa Literaturang Bikolnon (PTALB). This was recently announced by Carlos A. Arejola, chairman of Bicol’s premiere literary prize. The short-listed works were chosen by a committee headed by […]

PahinaLaya 2016, CLSU Collegian’s 1st Integrated Campus Press Conference and Competition to be held at CLSU

The CLSU Collegian, the official student publication of Central Luzon State University, will hold the PahinaLaya 2016 on April 9-10 2016, at College of Engineering, audio-visual room, CLSU PahinaLaya 2016, CLSU Collegian’s 1st Integrated Campus Press Conference and Competition, aims to sustain the publication’s tradition of promoting campus journalism by providing an avenue for pro-active […]

66th Palanca Awards now accepting entries

The Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature (Palanca Awards), the country’s longest-running literary contest, is reaching out anew to all writers looking to showcase their literary genius. Now on its 66th year, its organizer and sponsor, the Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc. (Palanca Foundation), announced that it is now accepting entries for the Awards’ categories, which […]

UP Press announces winners of critical essay writing contest

The University of the Philippines Press capped off its 50th golden anniversary and kicked off its 51st year with the announcement of the winners of its critical essay writing contest this March 16 at the UP Diliman Executive House. The event was attended by UP President Alfredo Pascual, UP Vice-president Gisela Padilla-Concepcion, former UP Press  […]